Text phishing scams

February 13, 2009 by
Filed under: Internet, Personal 

I received a weird text message from USE Credit Union. The message stated, “FRM:USECU MSG:USE Credit Union Message: please verify your account-‘suspicious activity’. Verify at (blah, blah,).com. I was surprised when I read this message because I don’t have any account with them. So, I checked out the USE credit union site. There, I found out that USE members may be at risk. They posted a message for all USE members in their bulletin. It was said that text phishing scams are circulating right now.  Be careful. The text phishing message asks members to verify their account through a fake link. USE said that don’t enter your personal information over the telephone or any fake links. If you already have responded to the phishing text message, you should call the official USE contact no. To more about this issue, check out usecu.org.

Comments

Tell me what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!